History Tottenham Hotspur

Tottenham Hotspur is an English professional football club based in London. The club was formed in 1882 by a group of schoolboys led by Bobby Buckle, who originally named it Hotspur Football Club. The club later changed its name to Tottenham Hotspur Football Club in 1884, and is commonly referred to as Tottenham or Spurs.

Tottenham is one of the most popular and successful clubs in England, having won eight FA Cups, four League Cups, two UEFA Cups, one UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup, and two FA Charity Shields. Tottenham is also the first British club to win a major European trophy, the 1963 UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup, and the first club to win the League and FA Cup double in the 20th century, in 1960-61.

Some of the most notable managers in Tottenham’s history are Arthur Rowe, who invented the “push and run” style of play and led the club to its first league title in 1951. Bill Nicholson, who oversaw the Double winning side as well as the most successful period of the club’s history, in the 1960s and early 1970. Keith Burkinshaw, who won two FA Cups and a UEFA Cup in the 1980, and Mauricio Pochettino, who guided the club to its first UEFA Champions League final in 2019.

Some of the most famous players who have played for Tottenham include Jimmy Greaves, the club’s all-time top scorer with 266 goals. Danny Blanchflower, the club’s longest-serving captain who led the Double winning team. Glenn Hoddle, who was regarded as one of the most gifted players of his generation. Gary Lineker, who won the Golden Boot at the 1986 FIFA World Cup. and Harry Kane, who is the current captain and one of the best strikers in the world.

Tottenham’s current manager is Ange Postecoglou. He is a former Celtic manager, who joined the club in the summer of 2023. He has won five trophies in Scotland, including two league titles, and has a reputation for playing an attractive and attacking style of football.

He is Tottenham’s fourth permanent manager since Mauricio Pochettino left the club in 2019, following Jose Mourinho, Nuno Espirito Santo and Antonio Conte He is also the first Australian to manage in the Premier League.

Tottenham’s current squad for the 2022/23 season consists of 27 players, with an average age of 26.8 and a total market value of €680.30m. Here is the list of players by position:



-Hugo Lloris (France)

-Fraser Forster (England)

-Alfie Whiteman (England)

-Brandon Austin (England)



-Cristian Romero (Argentina)

-Eric Dier (England)

-Davinson Sánchez (Colombia)

-Clément Lenglet (France)

-Japhet Tanganga (England)

-Ben Davies (Wales)

-Pedro Porro (Spain)

-Emerson Royal (Brazil)



-Oliver Skipp (England)

-Pierre-Emile Höjbjerg (Denmark)

-Rodrigo Bentancur (Uruguay)

-Yves Bissouma (Ivory Coast)

-Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal)

-Ryan Sessegnon (England)

-Ivan Perisic (Croatia)



-Heung-min Son (South Korea)

-Arnaut Danjuma (Netherlands)

-Dejan Kulusevski (Sweden)

-Lucas Moura (Brazil)

-Harry Kane (England)

-Richarlison (Brazil)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.