History Manchester City

Manchester City has a long history in the English football scene. The club nicknamed The Citizens had to go through an ups and downs phase to become one of the clubs to be reckoned with in England.

Manchester City was born from the embryo of a football club St Mark’s Church in 1880. At that time, Rome with the church system controlled the world government.

The beginning of the formation of Manchester City, marked by the appointment of Arthur Connell as head of St Mark’s Church in West Gorton, a district east of the City of Manchester.

Crime in the City of Manchester at that time was very high. Arthur Connell’s daughter, Anna Connell wants to form a youth sports association to reduce crime rates in the City of Manchester.

Therefore, a cricket club was born under St Mark’s Church in 1868.

Subsequently, the cricket club underwent a change into a football team named St. Marks (West Gordon) in 1880. The emergence of the football team could not be separated from the popularity of the world of bal-balan which began to rise.

In 1887, the team evolved into Ardwick AFC, having moved headquarters to Hyde Road.

Ardwick AFC became one of the founding clubs of the English Second Division in 1892. Two years later, Ardwick AFC changed its name to Manchester City Football Club, along with representing Hyde Road in English Division Two competitions.

Manchester City was finally able to become the champion of Division Two in 1989. The Citizens were promoted to the English Premier League.

History Manchester City

In 1904, Manchester City became the first Manchester City club to win the FA Cup when they beat Bolten Wanderes 1-0.

Manchester City (1900 to 1970)

Then, Manchester City had to experience a period of vacuum with other clubs after World War I in 1914 to 1918. Manchester City began to be active again by moving headquarters to Maine Road in 1923, along with the burning of Hyde Road.

In 1926, Manchester City had to be relegated to Division Two.

In fact, Manchester City won the most decisive first victory in the Manchester Derby against Manchester United at Old Trafford, with a landslide score of 6-1.

Two years later, Manchester City returned to promotion to the English Premier League after winning Division Two. Manchester City then made an achievement by winning the FA Cup title for the second time in 1934, after beating Portsmouth 2-1.

Three years later, Manchester City won the inaugural English Premier League title. After that, the ups and downs of Manchester City took place.

Until in the end, Manchester City won the second English Premier League title in 1968. One year later, Manchester City won the FA Cup for the third time after beating Leicester City 1-0 at Wembley Stadium.

One year later, Manchester City won its first title in European competition. The Citizens won the Cup Winners’ Cup title in 1970. The title was complemented by the success of Manchester City to win the English League Cup in the same year.

Rivalry with Manchester United

Winners Cup Winners show proof that Manchester City should be reckoned with by his brother and neighbor, Manchester United.

After that, the rivalry between the two clubs began to heat up.

Several events had colored the Manchester Derby in the 1970s. In the 1973-1974 season, for example, when Mike Doyle (Manchester City) and Lou Macari (Manchester United) did not want to leave the field despite receiving a red card.

The referee intervened to make both of them off the field. In the end, the referee ordered all the players from both teams to enter the locker room, before Doyle and Macari left the field.

After that, the rivalry between the two began to subside in the 1980s.

Only a handful of interesting events on the field coloring Deby Manchester.

The decade of the 1990s, Manchester United began to grow to collect many titles. Manchester City is only a club limited to the ups and downs of the competition caste and survives in the middle board. The rivalry between the two is still normal.

Manchester City have finally built a dream team with the entry of investor Sheikh Mansour. Sheikh Mansour gave United States dollars to build Manchester City into a strong team.

Players like Carlos Tevez, Mario Ballotelli, Samir Nasri, to coach Roberto Mancini have been brought in by Manchester City. The tradition of shopping for star players is also carried out by Manchester City.

In the 2011/2012 season, Manchester City finally won the English Premier League for the first time, and inflicted the first major home defeat in the Sir Alex Ferguson era for Manchester United. Manchester City slaughtered Manchester United 1-6 at Old Trafford.

The rivalry between the two continues in the title race. 2013/2014 season, Manchester City again proved as noisy neighbors by winning the second Premier League title.

In the era of Pep Guardiola (Manchester City) with Jose Mourinho (Manchester United), the Manchester Derby

March 2005 Keegan resigned and Stuart Pearce replaced him as caretaker or interim manager. City’s brilliant performances made Pearce appointed as full manager and Pearce’s 2005-2006 season brought City to 6th place in the Premier League. The following season City’s appearance declined drastically and only inhabited the bottom of the standings although they were not relegated.

Pearce was eventually sacked and replaced by former England national team manager, Sven-Göran Eriksson. At that time Manchester City was owned by the ambitious billionaire and former prime minister of Thailand, Thaksin Shinawatra.

Under Eriksson, City appeared strong at the start of the competition but began to lose balance from the middle of the competition, although they were able to reach the UEFA Cup zone thanks to their fair play performances. Thaksin, who was impatient, would have sacked Eriksson before the end of the competition if it had not been held back by Citizen fans who felt Thaksin was too arbitrary and did not pay attention to the desires of City fans.

Eriksson’s dismissal was only briefly delayed and was actually carried out later in the competition.

Mark Hughes, manager of Blackburn Rovers and also a former favorite player for city club Manchester United, was appointed to replace him. Under Hughes, City managed to occupy the Premier League position in the 2008-09 season and also successfully penetrated the UEFA Cup quarter-finals.

Hughes only lasted until half the 2009–10 season, he was replaced by Roberto Mancini.

Roberto Mancini Era (2009-2013)
Under Mancini, City successfully finished fifth in the 2009–10 Premier League season. The following season, City won the FA Cup after beating Stoke City 1–0 and successfully finished third in the Premier League, only the difference in goal difference made City fail to displace Chelsea from second place.

The 2011–12 season marked the club’s success in ending a 44-year league title drought (last in 1968) in a tight competition with Manchester United. Manchester City managed to become champions with a goal difference difference that was more in favor of the right.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.